Llanbrynmair is a town, community and electoral ward in Montgomeryshire, Powys, on the A470 road in between Caersws and also Machynlleth. Llanbrynmair, in area, is the second biggest in Powys. In 2011, it had a population of 920. The community includes several hamlets: Talerddig, Dolfach, Tafolwern, Pandy, Cringoed and Pennant. The initial centre goes to Llan, when driving to Llanidloes, where the regional parish church of St Mary is located. The existing centre (previously called "Wynnstay") at the junction of the A470 and also B4518 rose to neighborhood prominence with the building of the brand-new turnpike road in 1821 as well as the arrival of the railway line between Newtown and Machynlleth in 1861. Geographically, the community includes the valleys of 3 rivers-- Afon Twymyn, Afon Iaen and also Afon Rhiw Saeson-- and also the surrounding uplands. The three rivers join around the main town and circulation westwards as the Afon Twymyn towards the Afon Dyfi and also Cardigan Bay. The Cambrian railway line, built in the 1860s, runs through Llanbrynmair and also temporarily gave an electrical outlet for the mines at Dylife, 8 miles southern. The village station closed in 1965 as part of the "Beeching closures". There was a level going across beside the station yet, following the unexpected fatality of an American visitor in October 1999 and its description as a "blackspot", the crossing was closed and also the road diverted. The area is predominantly Welsh-speaking and reliant upon livestock farming. It was fortunate to leave the foot and also mouth illness break out in Britain in 2001.